How to Find Information in Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, and Environmental Science
Chemical and Environmental Sciences Information Literacy Tutorials (written by Bruce Slutsky)
- How to find chemical and chemical engineering information
(without narration) - How to find chemical and chemical engineering information
(with narration) - How to find physical properties of chemical substances
(without narration Revised Fall 2010) - How to find physical properties of chemical substances
(with narration Revised Fall 2010) - How to find information in the environmental sciences
(without narration) - How to find information in the environmental sciences
(with narration)
Selected guides to chemistry resources on the Internet
- Chemical Information Sources Wiki - compiled at Indiana University
- Chemistry Resources on the Internet - compiled by Dana Roth of Caltech
- Chemistry Resources on the Web - compiled by Connecticut Plastics
- Links for Chemists Compiled by the University of Liverpool
- Over 8500 pointers to chemistry web resources.
Selected Internet resources in chemistry
- Abbreviations of Chemical Compounds
- provided by Free University-Berlin - Abbreviations of Core Chemistry Journals
- Acronyms and Abbreviations
- provided by Free University-Berlin - ACS Directory of Graduate Research
- Al's Notebook
- a collection of common synthetic experimental procedures organized on the basis of functional group manipulation - Analytical Chemistry Springboard
- Analytical Sciences Digital Library
- a collection of web-based resources related to chemical measurements and instrumentation - BuyersGuideChem
- a directory of suppliers of chemicals and chemical products containing more than 90,000 product names, 170,000 supply references and 3,000 addresses - CASSI (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index) - a free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS
- ChemExper.com
- search for over 600,000 products from over 400 suppliers - Chemical Abstracts Service Standard Abbreviations and Acronyms
- Chemical Industry Home Page
- links to industry associations. news and company websites - Chemical Nomenclature Lite - A Guide To Naming and and Indexing Chemical Compounds compiled by Charles Davis of Indiana University
- Chemical Register - the online chemical buyer's guide
- Chemistry Dictionary - for Word Processors. Free from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
- Common Chemistry - a web resource that contains CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) Registry Numbers for approximately 7,800 chemicals of widespread general public interest.
- Consultants in chemistry and chemical engineering
- Depth First a chemistry related blog including a list of free chemistry databases
- Discovery Studio Visualizer - A free molecular modeling program offered by Accelrys
- Electrochemical Science and Technology Information Resource
- contains general information about electrochemistry - Emolecules
- a free chemistry search engine that enables users to determine if a molecule is novel and/or commercially available - Encyclopedia of Analytical Instrumentation compiled by Brian M. Tissue of Virginia Tech
- German-English, English-German Chemistry Dictionary - compiled at Stanford University
- Glossary of terms in chemistry compiled by Frostburg State University
- InChi.info - a website devoted to the International Chemical Identifier
- IUPAC Gold Book- a chemistry dictionary
- IUPAC Nomenclature Home Page
- List of Academic Chemistry Departments in the United States and outside the United States compiled by Chuck Huber
- Organic Chemistry Portal
- Organic Syntheses Website and Database
- free service providing detailed experimental methods for the synthesis of organic compounds. You must have downloaded and installed the latest ChemDraw Plugin to use this service. - Periodic Table of the Elements - Provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry
- Periodic Table of the Elements - WebElements
- Physical Properties of Chemical Substances - this link is especially useful for Math 225 students
- Podcasts - links to history of science Podcasts provided by the Chemical Heritage Foundation
- Prices of Chemicals - from ICIS Business America formerly known as Chemical Market Reporter
- PubChem
- NIH's Small Molecule Repository which is a component of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Roadmap Molecular Libraries initiative for the creation of an NIH small molecule library and screening centers. - RdChemicals - a database of suppliers of rare organic chemicals
- Spectroscopy Now - a new online resource serving the spectroscopy community
- Structure drawing programs are available for downloading from
- Synthetic Pages - a wiki-like database of organic and inorganic synthetic reactions
- Unit Converter - can be used for chemistry and other science and engineering disciplines
- Web Reactions - an organic reaction retrieval system
Created and updated by Bruce Slutsky
Last updated September 2010

