Additional Materials

Request materials not owned by NJIT library. Turn around time varies depending on type of request and availability.

NJIT librarians are available for research consultations and support.

Library Databases by Subject
Due to licensing restrictions, remote access / off-campus access to some of the library's electronic resources is limited to current students, faculty and staff of New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Subjects


American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals Online
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

Access to selected electronic journals published by the American Chemical Society.
 
Chemical Abstracts (Scifinder Scholar)
Coverage: 
1907 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

This database is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information. Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information.
 
DOE Information Bridge
Coverage: 
1995 - Present
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

The DOE Information Bridge, a component of EnergyFiles, includes the full-text and bibliographic records of DOE-sponsored report literature produced by the DOE and DOE contractor research and development community. This vast collection includes over 49,000 reports that have been received and processed by OSTI since January 1995.For additional information about thecontent of DOE Information Bridge, or for information on pre-1996 report literature, please see the Overview. See Technical Requirements necessary for system functionality.
 
E-print Network: Research Communication for Scientists and Engineers
Coverage: 
1995 - Present
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

The Department of Energy's E-print Network is a searchable gateway to preprint servers that deal with scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE. Such disciplines include the great bulk of physics, materials, and chemistry, as well as portions of biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.
 
Highwire Press Journals
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

Highwire Press is the Internet imprint of the Stanford University Libraries. Covers 4500 journals. 345 journals are in full-text
 
PubChem Database
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It will provide links to biological properties of substances.
 
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

This database is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. Special Software must be loaded to use it. There is a new version of the software which offers enhanced searching including limited cited reference searching. Scifinder Scholar 2006 was released in August 2005. Please upgrade to this new version at your earliest convenience. Older versions of Scifinder Scholar will not work after March 31, 2006. Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information.
 
Scopus
Coverage: 
1960 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

Scopus covers 14,000 international journals from more than 4,000 publishers in Science, Medicine, and Technical subjects.
 
Toxline
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

TOXLINE is the National Library of Medicine's extensive collection of online bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. It contains more than 3 million bibliographic citations, almost all with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry Numbers. TOXLINE references are drawn from various sources grouped into two major parts--TOXLINE Core and TOXLINE Special--both of which operate under versatile search engines offering a variety of search and display capabilities
 
Wiley InterScience
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library through 6/30/2009 - Formerly part of New Jersey Knowledge Initiative For More Info
Description:

Wiley InterScience delivers the full text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works, the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and the full text of select Wiley print books onlineThe journals cover a wide range of topics including: business, chemistry, computer science, earth science, education, literature, law, math, medicine, physics, and psychology. The majority of the titles included have a backfile that extends to 1997-98.