Library Databases by Subject

Due to licensing restrictions, remote access / off-campus access to some of the library's electronic resources is limited to current students, faculty and staff of New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Subjects


Biological Sciences

Databases Home
Coverage: 
1970- Present
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Access to 44 ACS journals from the inception of their publication to the present.
 
Coverage: 
Current edition (weekly update)
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Online access to active (most current) 13,000+ ASTM standards documents that are updated weekly. ASTM standards provide consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services in areas such as metals, petroleum, construction, rubber, the environment and more. ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:
Access to meeting abstracts and peer-reviewed articles in more than 50 online biology and medicine journals published by Current Science. Some full-text
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:
Table of contents access to peer reviewed journals in biological, environmental, and ecological science from 35 publishers
 
Coverage: 
1907 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
This database is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. This web-based research discovery tool allows access to a wide diversity of research from many disciplines, including biochemistry, chemistry, chemical engineering, materials sciences, physics, environmental science, and engineering. Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Ebook Central provides more than 155,000 book titles from the world\\\\\\\'s most authoritative publishers accessible electronically, online and offline. Ebook Central titles can be read online or downloaded to or transferred to an eReader that support Adobe Digital Editions. In addition, titles can be downloaded to devices like the iPad or iPhone using the Bluefire applications.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:
Pubget is a search engine for PDFs in the life sciences. We index nearly 20 million life science research documents, including those in PubMed®. You search it like you would PubMed or Google Scholar. The difference is Pubget gets you the PDF right away. Pubget solves the problem of full-text document access in life science research. Instead of search results linking to papers, with Pubget's proprietary technology, the search results ARE the papers. Once you find the papers you want, you can save, manage and share them—all online.
 
Coverage: 
1960 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

With over 21,500 journals from more than 5,000 international publishers and over 130,000 books, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social science and arts and humanities.