Agricola
1970 - Present
Externally Funded
Describes publications encompassing agriculture and allied disciplines including soil and water resources.
Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstract Service
1975 - Present
Externally Funded
Contains over 850,000 abstracts from thousands of journal and conference sources. The abstracts database contains data from several sources, including NASA's Scientific and Technical Information group (STI), journal publishers, SIMBAD, NED, and OCR'd. (1975-present.)
BioMed Central
Varies
Externally Funded
Access to meeting abstracts and peer-reviewed articles in more than 50 online biology and medicine journals published by Current Science. Some full-text
BioOne
Varies
Externally Funded
Table of contents access to peer reviewed journals in biological, environmental, and ecological science from 35 publishers
Chemical Abstracts (Scifinder Scholar)
1907 - Present
NJIT Library
This database is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts.
Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information.
Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information.
CiteSeer (also known as ResearchIndex)
Varies
Externally Funded
A scientific literature digital library that aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of scientific literature, and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness.
Copyright Search
1978 - Present
Externally Funded
Allows searching of copyright information by searching 3 databases which contain records and ownership documents. Includes, books, music, films, sound recording, maps, software, photos, art, multimedia, periodicals, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Current Research @ NJIT (Digital Dissertations)
Abstracts 1964 - Present; Fulltext 1997 - Present
Free to NJIT from Proquest
Full text of NJIT Dissertations (and some masters theses) from 1997 to the present. Citations and abstracts from 1964 to the present.
Digital Dissertations - ProQuest
Current year and previous year
Externally Funded
Citations and abstracts of dissertations and masters theses from current year and previous year only. Full text is available by self-purchase.
DOE Information Bridge
1995 - Present
Externally Funded
The DOE Information Bridge, a component of EnergyFiles, includes the full-text and bibliographic records of DOE-sponsored
report literature produced by the DOE and DOE contractor research and development community.
This vast collection includes over 49,000 reports that have been received and processed by OSTI
since January 1995.For additional information about thecontent of DOE Information Bridge, or for
information on pre-1996 report literature, please see the Overview. See Technical Requirements
necessary for system functionality.
EbscoHost Electronic Journals Service
Varies
NJIT Library
Full text of 188 journals published by ACM, SIAM, AIP, Wiley, Taylor and Francis, Springer, Royal Society of Chemistry and Institution of Chemical Engineers
Energy Citation Database
1948 - Present
Externally Funded
Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates. Some of the citations are available in full-text.
General Science Full Text (Omnifile Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson)
1995 - Present
NJIT Library
General Science Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts 298 periodicals plus the full text of 108 periodicals. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. Indexing coverage begins in 198Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993. Indexing begins in 1984. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
GreenFILE
Varies
Free from EBSCO
GreenFILE’s initial release will include A&I for more than 600 titles, including comprehensive coverage – from to volume 1, issue 1 to present – for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), i>Journal of Ecology (back to 1913) and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.
Highwire Press Journals
Varies
Externally Funded
Highwire Press is the Internet imprint of the Stanford University Libraries. Covers 4500 journals. 345 journals are in full-text
MathSciNet
1940 - Present
NJIT Library
Provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research.
NASA Astrophysics Data System
Varies
Externally Funded
The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project whose main resource is an Abstract Service, which includes four sets of abstracts: 1) astronomy and astrophysics, containing 542,317 abstracts; 2) instrumentation, containing 576,466 abstracts; 3) physics and geophysics, containing 877,721 abstracts; and 4) Los Alamos preprint server, containing 3,561 abstracts. Each dataset can be searched by author, object name (astronomy only), title, or abstract text words. In addition, we have extended the abstract service to include links to the full text of articles appearing in most of the major astronomical journals.
NASA Technical Report Server
Varies
Externally Funded
The NASA Technical Report Server is an experimental service that allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. Specifically, it is a unified interface to many separate WAIS servers. NTRS is both a superset of the of the various servers,
and a canonical listing of the servers.
New Jersey Environmental Digital Library (NJEDL)
Varies
Externally Funded
An online repository of environmental literature and multimedia related to New Jersey. The digital collection includes documents and reports, scientific studies, photographs, videos and maps.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
1990 - Present
Externally Funded
The largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Here you will find information on more than 600,000 information products covering over 350 subject areas from over 200 federal agencies.
OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson
1982 - Present
NJIT Library
More than 2,500 periodicals: business, humanities, science, education, & social science journals, plus popular magazines. Full text of more than 1,100 periodicals as far back as January 1994. Abstracting of more than 2,500 periodicals as far back as September 1984. Indexing of more than 2,500 periodicals as far back as August 1982. Includes Wilson's Education, Business, Humanities, Social Social Sciences, General Science, and Readers' Guide indexes and full text editions. Includes full text editions titles only of Art, Applied Science, and Library Literature.
Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
1893 - Present
NJIT Library
Includes the full text of Physical Review from 1893 presentto the . Covers Physical Review A,B,C,D, and E, Physical Review Letters, and Reviews of Modern Physics
PubMed Central
Varies
Externally Funded
Free access to medical articles from about 6 publishers. There is usually a delay of a year from the date of publication when an article will be available.
Science Direct
1995 - Present
NJIT Library
Full-text of journals published by Elsevier
Science Reference Center
Varies
NJ State Library
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Scientific and Technical Information Network
1974 - Present
Externally Funded
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET) Service helps the DOD community access pertinent scientific and technical information to meet mission needs more effectively. Public STINET gives you access to all unclassified, unlimited citations to documents added into DTIC from late December 1974 to present.
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Varies
NJIT Library
This database is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. Special Software must be loaded to use it. There is a new version of the software which offers enhanced searching including limited cited reference searching. Scifinder Scholar 2006 was released in August 2005. Please upgrade to this new version at your earliest convenience. Older versions of Scifinder Scholar will not work after March 31, 2006.
Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information.
Scitation / SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices)
Varies
Externally Funded
Scitation is the online home of more than 100 journals from AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and a host of other prestigious science and engineering societies. Some articles are available in full-text while others are only available to subscribers
Scopus
1960 - Present
NJIT Library
Scopus covers 14,000 international journals from more than 4,000 publishers in Science, Medicine, and Technical subjects.
SIAM Journals Online
1997 - Present
NJIT Library
Electronic access to SIAM Full-Text Articles from 1997 to the present.
SPIE Digital Library
Varies
Externally Funded
The SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering) Digital Library includes approx. 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1998. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers published since 1995. Plans are underway to expand the Digital Library back to 1990 by the end of 2004, an archive of nearly 200,000 papers. Approximately 15,000 new papers will be added each year.
Toxline
Varies
Externally Funded
TOXLINE is the National Library of Medicine's extensive collection of online bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. It contains more than 3 million bibliographic citations, almost all with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry Numbers. TOXLINE references are drawn from various sources grouped into two major parts--TOXLINE Core and TOXLINE Special--both of which operate under versatile search engines offering a variety of search and display capabilities
ToxNet
Varies
Externally Funded
A system of searchable databases containing information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and environmental health.
TRANweb
Varies
Externally Funded
Transportation Article File produced by the Northwestern University Transportation Library.
TRIS (Transportation Research Information)
1960s - Present
Externally Funded
The largest and most comprehensive source of information on transportation research. Includes over 400,000 books, journal articles, and technical reports.
Wiley InterScience
Varies
NJIT Library through 6/30/2009 - Formerly part of New Jersey Knowledge Initiative
For More Info
Wiley InterScience delivers the full text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works, the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and the full text of select Wiley print books onlineThe journals cover a wide range of topics including: business, chemistry, computer science, earth science, education, literature, law, math, medicine, physics, and psychology. The majority of the titles included have a backfile that extends to 1997-98.