Additional Materials

Request materials not owned by NJIT library. Turn around time varies depending on type of request and availability.

NJIT librarians are available for research consultations and support.

Library Databases by Subject
Due to licensing restrictions, remote access / off-campus access to some of the library's electronic resources is limited to current students, faculty and staff of New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Subjects


BioMed Central
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

Access to meeting abstracts and peer-reviewed articles in more than 50 online biology and medicine journals published by Current Science. Some full-text
 
BioOne
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

Table of contents access to peer reviewed journals in biological, environmental, and ecological science from 35 publishers
 
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
 
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Coverage: 
20 years
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

The Academic Universe provides access to the world's leading legal, news, medial and business resources. One may search over 1 billion documents from 12,500 publications, over 5,300 in full-text.
 
MEDLINE (via PubMed)
Coverage: 
1966 - Present
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
 
PsycArticles
Coverage: 
1894 - Present
Funded by: 
Distance Learning Fees
Description:

PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
 
Pubget
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

Pubget is a search engine for PDFs in the life sciences. We index nearly 20 million life science research documents, including those in PubMed®. You search it like you would PubMed or Google Scholar. The difference is Pubget gets you the PDF right away. Pubget solves the problem of full-text document access in life science research. Instead of search results linking to papers, with Pubget's proprietary technology, the search results ARE the papers. Once you find the papers you want, you can save, manage and share them—all online.
 
PubMed Central
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

Free access to medical articles from about 6 publishers. There is usually a delay of a year from the date of publication when an article will be available.
 
Scopus
Coverage: 
1960 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

Scopus covers 14,000 international journals from more than 4,000 publishers in Science, Medicine, and Technical subjects.
 
Toxline
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

TOXLINE is the National Library of Medicine's extensive collection of online bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. It contains more than 3 million bibliographic citations, almost all with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry Numbers. TOXLINE references are drawn from various sources grouped into two major parts--TOXLINE Core and TOXLINE Special--both of which operate under versatile search engines offering a variety of search and display capabilities
 
Wiley InterScience
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library through 6/30/2009 - Formerly part of New Jersey Knowledge Initiative For More Info
Description:

Wiley InterScience delivers the full text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works, the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and the full text of select Wiley print books onlineThe journals cover a wide range of topics including: business, chemistry, computer science, earth science, education, literature, law, math, medicine, physics, and psychology. The majority of the titles included have a backfile that extends to 1997-98.