Library Databases by Subject

Due to licensing restrictions, remote access / off-campus access to some of the library's electronic resources is limited to current students, faculty and staff of New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Subjects


Mechanical Engineering

Databases Home
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Access to 44 ACS journals from the inception of their publication to the present.
 
Coverage: 
Current (updated quarterly)
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Features the complete content of twenty-eight ASM Handbook volumes of comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology; several ASM Handbook supplements, and two ASM Desk Editions. Over 25,000 pages of articles, illustrations, tables, graphs, specifications and practical examples.
 
Coverage: 
1960 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Online access to the full text of the Transaction Journals of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
 
Coverage: 
Current edition (weekly update)
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Online access to active (most current) 13,000+ ASTM standards documents that are updated weekly. ASTM standards provide consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services in areas such as metals, petroleum, construction, rubber, the environment and more. ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
The ECS Digital Library is home to the Journal of The Society (JES), the flagship journal of The Electrochemical Society, published continuously since 1902. Three new peer-reviewed journals joined JES in mid- 2012 ECS Journal of Solid State Science and Technology (JSS), ECS Electrochemistry Letters (EEL), and ECS Solid State Letters (SSL). Still accessible as an archived journal is Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters (ESL).
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Access to all IOP journal content online.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Full text access is provided to the chemistry and chemical engineering subset of the Knovel Handbooks which provides a searchable database of compendia, data sets and reference sources in engineering, science, and technology. It has a data search feature that allows the researcher to find materials that meet specific parameters including physical, mechanical and thermal properties. Productivity tools include interactive charts, graphs, spreadsheets, and equation plotters. Helpers include an interactive periodical table, an Excel add-in, and a comprehensive unit converter.
 
Coverage: 
1997 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Online access to over 10,000 Springer computer science monographs including the Lecture Notes in Computer Science.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
NJIT has access to Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science ebook Collection One, two, three and four.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
The Powder Diffraction File published by The International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD) is one of the largest source of inorganic diffraction data from crystals and powders. With over 360,000 entries it provides a comprehensive collection of inorganic materials that can be rapidly searched for unknown phase identification. It includes crystalline, semi-crystalline, and amorphous solid state materials. More detailed information on this database may be found at http://www.icdd.com/products/pdf4.htm while video tutorials are available at http://www.icdd.com/streaming/videos.htm
This database is licensed for use on a single PC at the RW Van Houten Library, Reference Department and is available from 9 AM to 7 PM, Monday  Thursday, and 9 AM to 5 PM on Friday. For access you may stop by the library, contact a Reference Librarian at 973-596-3210 or e-mail askalibrarian@njit.edu
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Ebook Central provides more than 155,000 book titles from the world\\\'s most authoritative publishers accessible electronically, online and offline. Ebook Central titles can be read online or downloaded to or transferred to an eReader that support Adobe Digital Editions. In addition, titles can be downloaded to devices like the iPad or iPhone using the Bluefire applications.
 
Coverage: 
1995 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Discover over 2300 full-text of journals published by Elsevier.
 
Coverage: 
1960 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

With over 21,500 journals from more than 5,000 international publishers and over 130,000 books, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social science and arts and humanities.


 
Coverage: 
1997 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Online access to over 1650 Springer journals and over 10,000 computer science monographs including the Lecture Notes in Computer Science.