Additional Materials

Request materials not owned by NJIT library. Turn around time varies depending on type of request and availability.

NJIT librarians are available for research consultations and support.

Library Databases by Subject
Due to licensing restrictions, remote access / off-campus access to some of the library's electronic resources is limited to current students, faculty and staff of New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Subjects


Biomedical Engineering Databases Home
Chemical Abstracts (Scifinder Scholar)
Coverage: 
1907 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

This database is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information. Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information.
 
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
 
IEEE Xplore
Coverage: 
1988 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

Covers IEEE and IEE conferences and periodicals and IEEE standards. I ncludes*over 1,000, 000 articles from 1950 to the present plus pre - published articles. The latter are the final articles that will be published in print, with no changes to the PDF, in the next 1-6 months.
 
MEDLINE (via PubMed)
Coverage: 
1966 - Present
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
 
PubChem Database
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It will provide links to biological properties of substances.
 
Pubget
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

Pubget is a search engine for PDFs in the life sciences. We index nearly 20 million life science research documents, including those in PubMed®. You search it like you would PubMed or Google Scholar. The difference is Pubget gets you the PDF right away. Pubget solves the problem of full-text document access in life science research. Instead of search results linking to papers, with Pubget's proprietary technology, the search results ARE the papers. Once you find the papers you want, you can save, manage and share them—all online.
 
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

This database is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. Special Software must be loaded to use it. There is a new version of the software which offers enhanced searching including limited cited reference searching. Scifinder Scholar 2006 was released in August 2005. Please upgrade to this new version at your earliest convenience. Older versions of Scifinder Scholar will not work after March 31, 2006. Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information.
 
Scopus
Coverage: 
1960 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

Scopus covers 14,000 international journals from more than 4,000 publishers in Science, Medicine, and Technical subjects.