Academic Search Premier
1970- Present
NJ State Library
Academic Search Premier is the world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. With the most valuable and most numerous collection of peer-reviewed full text journals, Academic Search Premier offers critical information from many sources found in no other database. This resource contains full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications
Architectural Index
1982 - 1988
Externally Funded
The Architectural Index was designed by an architect for easy use by architects and designers. It provides information from major architectural and related magazines so that you can find the article in your collection or the library's collection.
ArchLib images database
Varies
NJIT Library
Searchable database of images in architecture and related areas (e.g., buildings, sites, cities, some furniture, painting, scuplture, maps, etc.).
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1977 - Present
NJIT Library
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture from 1977 to the present
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Varies
NJIT Library
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.
Copyright Search
1978 - Present
Externally Funded
Allows searching of copyright information by searching 3 databases which contain records and ownership documents. Includes, books, music, films, sound recording, maps, software, photos, art, multimedia, periodicals, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Current Research @ NJIT (Digital Dissertations)
Abstracts 1964 - Present; Fulltext 1997 - Present
Free to NJIT from Proquest
Full text of NJIT Dissertations (and some masters theses) from 1997 to the present. Citations and abstracts from 1964 to the present.
Digital Dissertations - ProQuest
Current year and previous year
Externally Funded
Citations and abstracts of dissertations and masters theses from current year and previous year only. Full text is available by self-purchase.
Education Full Text (Omnifile Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson)
1995 - Present
NJIT Library
Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from 757 and yearbooks with full text for 394 journals including over 40 Open Access journals. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Indexing coverage is from 1983, Full Text from 1995.
Gale Literary Index
Varies
Externally Funded
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale Group, Inc. It combines and cross references more than 135,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 165,000 titles into one source
GreenFILE
Varies
Free from EBSCO
GreenFILE’s initial release will include A&I for more than 600 titles, including comprehensive coverage – from to volume 1, issue 1 to present – for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), i>Journal of Ecology (back to 1913) and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.
Grove Dictionary of Art
Varies
NJIT Library
Acess is available for 3 simultaneous users. The Grove Dictionary of Art Online contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. And it provides access to 100,000 images from the Bridgeman Art Library. The Bridgeman Art Library contains images of painting, sculpture, architecture and the decorative arts from many of the most prestigious museums from around the world, as well as material from private collections, works in situ, and architectural and historical images. Links are also provided to images in public collections throughout the world.
Highwire Press Journals
Varies
Externally Funded
Highwire Press is the Internet imprint of the Stanford University Libraries. Covers 4500 journals. 345 journals are in full-text
History Reference Center
Varies
NJ State Library through 6/30/2010
History Reference Center® is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 2,300 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
Jersey Clicks
Varies
NJ State Library
Database of full-text magazines, journals and encyclopedias.
LISTA (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts)
1960s - Present
Free from EBSCO. This database will be disabled if EBSCO changes its status.
EBSCO Publishing is proud to provide the Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) database as a free resource to anyone interested in libraries and information management. This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
Literary Reference Center
Varies
NJ State Library through 6/30/2010
Literary Reference Center on EBSCOhost is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a full text database that combines content from major respected reference works, mongraphs, classic books and anthologies, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
MetroFile
Varies
Externally Funded
MetroFile is a database of articles from local newspapers and magazines on architecture, infrastructure, and the built environment in the New York and New Jersey metropolitan area. The articles are chosen because of their local focus and their potential or known interest to the community of the New Jersey Institute of Technology School of Architecture.
OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson
1982 - Present
NJIT Library
More than 2,500 periodicals: business, humanities, science, education, & social science journals, plus popular magazines. Full text of more than 1,100 periodicals as far back as January 1994. Abstracting of more than 2,500 periodicals as far back as September 1984. Indexing of more than 2,500 periodicals as far back as August 1982. Includes Wilson's Education, Business, Humanities, Social Social Sciences, General Science, and Readers' Guide indexes and full text editions. Includes full text editions titles only of Art, Applied Science, and Library Literature.
Project Muse
Varies
Externally Funded
A searchable index of the 40 Johns Hopkins University Press journals online with Project Muse. Searching is available for over 5,000 articles, including author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full-text
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
Varies
Externally Funded
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a an authoritative and comprehensive reference work devoted to philosophy that will remain useful to those in academia and the general public.
Union List of Artists Names
NA
Externally Funded
The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN) is a directory of names and biographical information for two hundred thousand artists and architects. This will NOT give you articles, but correct spelling of artists' and architect's names, birth and death dates, and nationalities.
Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies
Varies
NJIT Library
Access to more than 300 detailed case studies of completed projects ranging from low-income housing to mixed-use downtown developments to commercial and industrial projects. The case studies provide photographs and site plans, information on costs and rents, innovative features and strategies of the project, and an explanation of the entire development process. It covers projects from 1985 to the present. Thirty new case studies are added every year.