Library Databases by Subject

Due to licensing restrictions, remote access / off-campus access to some of the library's electronic resources is limited to current students, faculty and staff of New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Subjects


Education

Databases Home
Coverage: 
1996 - Present
Funded by: 
American Society for Engineering Education
Description:
This database includes full text of the American Society for Engineering Education papers presented at ASEE Annual Conference since 1996.
 
Coverage: 
1966 - Present
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), the U.S. Department of Education's database, with more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, will be available for free. ERIC may be also accessed through Ebsco Masterfile
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Free to NJIT from EBSCO
Description:
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
The JSTOR Essential Collection (consists of JSTOR I,II,III,IV and VII) features foundational content in the humanities and social sciences. It includes nearly 700 core titles across 45 disciplines, including History, Education, Language & Literature, Business, Political Science, and more. See title list at:
http://about.jstor.org/content/essential-collection#tab-title-list
 
Coverage: 
1960s - Present
Funded by: 
Free from EBSCO. This database will be disabled if EBSCO changes its status.
Description:
EBSCO Publishing is proud to provide the Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) database as a free resource to anyone interested in libraries and information management. This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
 
Coverage: 
1982 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
More than 2,500 periodicals: business, humanities, science, education, & social science journals, plus popular magazines. Full text of more than 1,100 periodicals as far back as January 1994. Abstracting of more than 2,500 periodicals as far back as September 1984. Indexing of more than 2,500 periodicals as far back as August 1982. Includes Wilson\'s Education, Business, Humanities, Social Social Sciences, General Science, and Readers\' Guide indexes and full text editions. Includes full text editions titles only of Art, Applied Science, and Library Literature.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Ebook Central provides more than 155,000 book titles from the world\\\\\\\'s most authoritative publishers accessible electronically, online and offline. Ebook Central titles can be read online or downloaded to or transferred to an eReader that support Adobe Digital Editions. In addition, titles can be downloaded to devices like the iPad or iPhone using the Bluefire applications.
 
Coverage: 
Current
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Description: SBRnet focuses on the business of sports and contains industry statistics for professional, college, and consumer markets including attendance and media usage trends for all three major sports market segments - fans, participants and buyers of sports-related products.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Free
Description:
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.