Architectural Index
1982 - 1988
Externally Funded
The Architectural Index was designed by an architect for easy use by architects and designers. It provides information from major architectural and related magazines so that you can find the article in your collection or the library's collection.
ArchLib images database
Varies
NJIT Library
Searchable database of images in architecture and related areas (e.g., buildings, sites, cities, some furniture, painting, scuplture, maps, etc.).
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1977 - Present
NJIT Library
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture from 1977 to the present
Building Green Suite
Varies
NJIT Library
Limited Availability: please see Maya Gervits at the Architecture Library for further information. The BuildingGreen Suite of online tools gives you the best information on green design in a subscription-based Web site format. This online resource features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. The BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of more than 100 high-performance building case studies. This wealth of information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED™ credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.
CuminCAD
Varies
NJIT Library
CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 7.600 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 5.000 papers are also available. A separate index of some 900 papers in Spanish language are maintained.
GreenFILE
Varies
Free from EBSCO
GreenFILE’s initial release will include A&I for more than 600 titles, including comprehensive coverage – from to volume 1, issue 1 to present – for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), i>Journal of Ecology (back to 1913) and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.
Grove Dictionary of Art
Varies
NJIT Library
Acess is available for 3 simultaneous users. The Grove Dictionary of Art Online contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. And it provides access to 100,000 images from the Bridgeman Art Library. The Bridgeman Art Library contains images of painting, sculpture, architecture and the decorative arts from many of the most prestigious museums from around the world, as well as material from private collections, works in situ, and architectural and historical images. Links are also provided to images in public collections throughout the world.
Material Connexion
Varies
NJIT Library
A collection of over 1,400 materials and processes, materials originating from a large spectrum of industries—typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals.
MetroFile
Varies
Externally Funded
MetroFile is a database of articles from local newspapers and magazines on architecture, infrastructure, and the built environment in the New York and New Jersey metropolitan area. The articles are chosen because of their local focus and their potential or known interest to the community of the New Jersey Institute of Technology School of Architecture.
OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson
1982 - Present
NJIT Library
More than 2,500 periodicals: business, humanities, science, education, & social science journals, plus popular magazines. Full text of more than 1,100 periodicals as far back as January 1994. Abstracting of more than 2,500 periodicals as far back as September 1984. Indexing of more than 2,500 periodicals as far back as August 1982. Includes Wilson's Education, Business, Humanities, Social Social Sciences, General Science, and Readers' Guide indexes and full text editions. Includes full text editions titles only of Art, Applied Science, and Library Literature.
Structurae: The International Database and Gallery
Varies
Externally Funded
This searchable site is designed to "provide information on structures of interest to the civil engineer." There are over 3,000 structures including buildings, bridges, dams, towers, and domes. The database is browsable alphabetically, by structure type, function, construction method, geography, large-scale projects, persons, or firm. Information includes materials, dimensions, starting and completion dates, and some photographs. Additionally, there is a 2,500 year timeline and related resources. Available in English, French, and German.
Union List of Artists Names
NA
Externally Funded
The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN) is a directory of names and biographical information for two hundred thousand artists and architects. This will NOT give you articles, but correct spelling of artists' and architect's names, birth and death dates, and nationalities.
Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies
Varies
NJIT Library
Access to more than 300 detailed case studies of completed projects ranging from low-income housing to mixed-use downtown developments to commercial and industrial projects. The case studies provide photographs and site plans, information on costs and rents, innovative features and strategies of the project, and an explanation of the entire development process. It covers projects from 1985 to the present. Thirty new case studies are added every year.