Library Databases by Subject

Due to licensing restrictions, remote access / off-campus access to some of the library's electronic resources is limited to current students, faculty and staff of New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Subjects


Coverage: 
1970- Present
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals.
 
Coverage: 
1978 - Present
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:
Allows searching of copyright information by searching 3 databases which contain records and ownership documents. Includes, books, music, films, sound recording, maps, software, photos, art, multimedia, periodicals, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
 
Coverage: 
Current year and previous year
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:
Citations and abstracts of dissertations and masters theses from current year and previous year only. Full text is available by self-purchase.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
This page allows users to simultaneously search EBSCO databases. To search within a single EBSCOhost database, click the database name listed. To select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
 
Coverage: 
1994 - Present
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:
Catalog of U.S. Government publications
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
CHDS
Description:
The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy. HSDL content includes state-of-the-art multi-media offerings and other valuable assets identified by CHDS master's degree participants and instructors. CHDS and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security are providing the HSDL to homeland security officials, researchers, educators, and students in an effort to support decision-making needs and assists homeland defense and security related research. Moreover, because we’re sponsored by DHS, this service is completely free of charge to the NJIT community.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:
Database of full-text magazines, journals and encyclopedias.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
The JSTOR Essential Collection (consists of JSTOR I,II,III,IV and VII) features foundational content in the humanities and social sciences. It includes nearly 700 core titles across 45 disciplines, including History, Education, Language & Literature, Business, Political Science, and more. See title list at:
http://about.jstor.org/content/essential-collection#tab-title-list
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:
Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

 
Coverage: 
1960s - Present
Funded by: 
Free from EBSCO. This database will be disabled if EBSCO changes its status.
Description:
EBSCO Publishing is proud to provide the Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) database as a free resource to anyone interested in libraries and information management. This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:
This database includes about 1,000 magazines and 45 full-text reference books as well as more than 1.4 million photos, maps and flags. It is designed specifically for public libraries, this database provides full text for magazines, periodicals and reference books covering a wide-range of subject areas. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
 
Coverage: 
1851 to Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Important: To obtain access to the NEW YORK TIMES. you must first register using your NJIT username.
NJIT has purchase institution-wide access to the New York Times. This provides users with 24/7 digital mobile access to The New York Times and includes breaking news stories, multimedia content, videos and the ability to share, save, set-up alerts, and comment on articles. It also provides access to limited archive content back to 1851.  During the date range 1923 to 1980, users are limited to 5 articles per day. During dates outside of this time frame, access is unlimited. This subscription also includes access to the InEducation academic resources or learning tools.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
 
Coverage: 
1982 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
More than 2,500 periodicals: business, humanities, science, education, & social science journals, plus popular magazines. Full text of more than 1,100 periodicals as far back as January 1994. Abstracting of more than 2,500 periodicals as far back as September 1984. Indexing of more than 2,500 periodicals as far back as August 1982. Includes Wilson\'s Education, Business, Humanities, Social Social Sciences, General Science, and Readers\' Guide indexes and full text editions. Includes full text editions titles only of Art, Applied Science, and Library Literature.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:
Ebook Central provides more than 155,000 book titles from the world\\\'s most authoritative publishers accessible electronically, online and offline. Ebook Central titles can be read online or downloaded to or transferred to an eReader that support Adobe Digital Editions. In addition, titles can be downloaded to devices like the iPad or iPhone using the Bluefire applications.
 
Coverage: 
1894 - Present
Funded by: 
Distance Learning Fees
Description:
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:
Reference USA offers cutting-edge, advanced technology to provide real-time access to the world\'s most comprehensive databases of 14 million U.S. businesses; 250 million U.S. consumers; 732,000 U.S. physicians, surgeons and dentists; 1.2 million Canadian businesses; and 12 million Canadian consumers.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:
Regional Business News is a supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
 
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:
The Statistical Abstract is the Nation’s best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the country. The Abstract has been published since 1878. As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.