[NJIT homepage] Robert W. Van Houten Library
(973) 596-3206
Today is Sat, Jul 19, 2008.
Hours
Ask a librarian
My library account
 


Library Databases by Subject

Due to a cut in state funding to the New Jersey Knowledge Initiative, access to most New Jersey Knowledge Initiative databases has ended as of February 29, 2008. These databases include: Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive, CINAHL, CorpTech, MEDLINE, Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive, OVID, Pre-CINAHL, Reference USA

For more information go to: http://www.valenj.org/newvale/spotlight/njki.shtml


37 NJIT Library Licensed Databases
112 Non-NJIT Licensed Databases
 

Art and Architecture       Top
Architectural Index   Coverage dates: 1982 - 1988
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Humanities Externally Funded
ArchLib images database   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Humanities Funded by: NJIT Library
Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective   Coverage dates: 1929 - Present
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Humanities Funded by: NJIT Library
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals   Coverage dates: 1977 - Present
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Humanities Funded by: NJIT Library
Building Green Suite   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Art and Architecture Funded by: NJIT Library
CuminCAD   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Engineering Funded by: NJIT Library
GreenFILE   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Humanities, Science Funded by: Free from EBSCO
Grove Dictionary of Art   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Humanities Funded by: NJIT Library
Material Connexion   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Art and Architecture Funded by: NJIT Library
MetroFile   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Humanities Externally Funded
OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson   Coverage dates: 1982 - Present
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Business and Management, Education, Engineering, General, Humanities, Information Science and Systems, Science, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library
Structurae: The International Database and Gallery   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Engineering Externally Funded
Union List of Artists Names   Coverage dates: NA
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Humanities Externally Funded
Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Humanities Funded by: NJIT Library

 
Biomedical Engineering       Top
Biomedical Reference Collection: Expanded   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Medical Funded by: NJ State Library
Chemical Abstracts (Scifinder Scholar)   Coverage dates: 1907 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Medical Funded by: NJ State Library
IEE/IEEE Electronic Library   Coverage dates: 1988 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems Funded by: NJIT Library
INSPEC   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Physics Funded by: NJIT Library
MEDLINE (via PubMed)   Coverage dates: 1966 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Health, Medical Externally Funded
Nursing and Allied Health Collection: Expanded   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Medical Funded by: NJ State Library
Optical Society of America (OSA) Optics InfoBase   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Medical, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
PubChem Database   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry Externally Funded
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Physics, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Scopus   Coverage dates: 1960 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Business and Management, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical, Physics, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library

 
Business and Management       Top
Academic Search Premier   Coverage dates: 1970- Present
  Subjects: Business and Management, Engineering Technology, General, Health, Humanities, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Social Sciences Funded by: Funded through 6/30/2008 - NJ State Library
Business Full Text (Omnifile Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson)   Coverage dates: 1995 - Present
  Subjects: Business and Management, General Funded by: NJIT Library
Business Source Premier   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Career Research, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems Funded by: Funded through 6/30/2008 by NJIT Library - Formerly part of New Jersey Knowledge Initiative For More Info
Corporate ResourceNet   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management Funded by: NJ State Library
CorpTech   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Career Research Funded by: No longer funded by New Jersey Knowledge Initative. For More Info
Frost & Sullivan   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management Funded by: NJIT - Office of Technology Development through 12/18/2008 with support from the New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology and the National Collegiate Inventors and Innovators Alliance
Gartner subscriber-only website   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Computer Science Funded by: NJIT - Division of Computing Services
Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Career Research Externally Funded
Jersey Clicks   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, General, Humanities Funded by: NJ State Library
JSTOR - Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and Health & General Science Collection   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, General, Humanities, Information Science and Systems, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library and Distance Learning Fees
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe   Coverage dates: 20 years
  Subjects: Business and Management, Career Research, General, Health, Legal, Medical, News, Patents Funded by: NJIT Library
OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson   Coverage dates: 1982 - Present
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Business and Management, Education, Engineering, General, Humanities, Information Science and Systems, Science, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library
Reference USA   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Career Research, General Funded by: No longer funded by New Jersey Knowledge Initative. For More Info
Regional Business News   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, General Funded by: Funded through 6/30/2008 - Formerly part of New Jersey Knowledge Initiative For More Info
Science Direct   Coverage dates: 1995 - Present
  Subjects: Business and Management, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Scopus   Coverage dates: 1960 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Business and Management, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical, Physics, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library
Statistical Abstract of the United States   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, General, Mathematics Externally Funded
Wiley InterScience   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medical, Physics, Science Funded by: Funded through 6/30/2008 by NJIT Library - Formerly part of New Jersey Knowledge Initiative For More Info

 
Career Research       Top
Business Source Premier   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Career Research, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems Funded by: Funded through 6/30/2008 by NJIT Library - Formerly part of New Jersey Knowledge Initiative For More Info
CorpTech   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Career Research Funded by: No longer funded by New Jersey Knowledge Initative. For More Info
Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Career Research Externally Funded
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe   Coverage dates: 20 years
  Subjects: Business and Management, Career Research, General, Health, Legal, Medical, News, Patents Funded by: NJIT Library
Reference USA   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Career Research, General Funded by: No longer funded by New Jersey Knowledge Initative. For More Info

 
Chemical Engineering       Top
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Physics, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Scopus   Coverage dates: 1960 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Business and Management, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical, Physics, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library

 
Chemistry       Top
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals Online   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Chemical Abstracts (Scifinder Scholar)   Coverage dates: 1907 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
DOE Information Bridge   Coverage dates: 1995 - Present
  Subjects: Chemistry, Physics, Science Externally Funded
E-print Network: Research Communication for Scientists and Engineers   Coverage dates: 1995 - Present
  Subjects: Chemistry, Materials, Physics Externally Funded
Highwire Press Journals   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Chemistry, General, Health, Humanities, Physics, Science Externally Funded
Knovel   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Chemistry, ebooks, Engineering, Materials Funded by: Limited access free from Knovel. If at anytime this status changes, this resource may be disabled.
Knovel Critical Tables   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Chemistry, ebooks, Engineering, Materials Funded by: Limited access free from Knovel. If at any time this status changes, this resource may be disabled.
PubChem Database   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry Externally Funded
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Physics, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Scopus   Coverage dates: 1960 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Business and Management, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical, Physics, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library
Toxline   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Chemistry, Medical, Science Externally Funded
Wiley InterScience   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medical, Physics, Science Funded by: Funded through 6/30/2008 by NJIT Library - Formerly part of New Jersey Knowledge Initiative For More Info

 
Civil Engineering       Top
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals Online   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)   Coverage dates: 1993 - Present
  Subjects: Civil Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering Funded by: NJIT Library
Applied Science Abstracts   Coverage dates: 1983 - Present
  Subjects: Civil Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Chemical Abstracts (Scifinder Scholar)   Coverage dates: 1907 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Civil Engineering Database   Coverage dates: 1970 - Present
  Subjects: Civil Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering Externally Funded
IEE/IEEE Electronic Library   Coverage dates: 1988 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems Funded by: NJIT Library
Kluwer Online Journals (MERGED WITH SPRINGERLINK)   Coverage dates: 1997 - Present
  Subjects: Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics Funded by: NJIT Library
Science Direct   Coverage dates: 1995 - Present
  Subjects: Business and Management, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Physics, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Scopus   Coverage dates: 1960 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Business and Management, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical, Physics, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library
Springerlink   Coverage dates: 1997 - Present
  Subjects: Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics Funded by: NJIT Library
TRIS (Transportation Research Information)   Coverage dates: 1960s - Present
  Subjects: Civil Engineering, Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Science, Transportation Externally Funded

 
Computer Science       Top
ACM Digital Library   Coverage dates: 1991- Present
  Subjects: Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems Funded by: NJIT Library
arXiv.org e-Print archive   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics Externally Funded
BibFinder   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Computer Science Externally Funded
CiteSeer (also known as ResearchIndex)   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Science Externally Funded
EBL (e-Books Library)   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Computer Science, ebooks, Electrical and Computer Engineering, General, Humanities, Information Science and Systems Funded by: NJIT Library
Gartner subscriber-only website   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Business and Management, Computer Science Funded by: NJIT - Division of Computing Services
Homeland Security Digital Library   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Computer Science, General, Information Science and Systems Funded by: CHDS
IEE/IEEE Electronic Library   Coverage dates: 1988 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems Funded by: NJIT Library
INSPEC   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Physics Funded by: NJIT Library
Kluwer Online Journals (MERGED WITH SPRINGERLINK)   Coverage dates: 1997 - Present
  Subjects: Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics Funded by: NJIT Library
Science Direct   Coverage dates: 1995 - Present
  Subjects: Business and Management, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Scopus   Coverage dates: 1960 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Business and Management, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical, Physics, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library
Springerlink   Coverage dates: 1997 - Present
  Subjects: Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics Funded by: NJIT Library

 
Dissertations       Top
Current Research @ NJIT (Digital Dissertations)   Coverage dates: Abstracts 1964 - Present; Fulltext 1997 - Present
  Subjects: Dissertations, Engineering, Humanities, Science Funded by: Free to NJIT from Proquest
Digital Dissertations - ProQuest   Coverage dates: Current year and previous year
  Subjects: Dissertations, Engineering, General, Humanities, Science Externally Funded
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Dissertations, Engineering, Science Externally Funded

 
ebooks       Top
EBL (e-Books Library)   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Computer Science, ebooks, Electrical and Computer Engineering, General, Humanities, Information Science and Systems Funded by: NJIT Library
Google Book Search   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: ebooks Funded by: Free to public
Knovel   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Chemistry, ebooks, Engineering, Materials Funded by: Limited access free from Knovel. If at anytime this status changes, this resource may be disabled.
Knovel Critical Tables   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Chemistry, ebooks, Engineering, Materials Funded by: Limited access free from Knovel. If at any time this status changes, this resource may be disabled.
Online Books Page - University of Pennsylvania   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: ebooks Funded by: Free to public
Open-Access Text Archive   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: ebooks Funded by: Free to public
Project Gutenberg   Coverage dates: pre-1923
  Subjects: ebooks Funded by: Free to public

 
Education       Top
ASEE Proceedings - Index   Coverage dates: 1996 - Present
  Subjects: Education, Engineering Externally Funded
Education Full Text (Omnifile Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson)   Coverage dates: 1995 - Present
  Subjects: Education, General, Humanities, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library
ERIC - Education Social Science - Public   Coverage dates: 1966 - Present
  Subjects: Education, Information Science and Systems, Social Sciences Externally Funded
ERIC - Education Social Science - VALE   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Education, Information Science and Systems, Social Sciences Funded by: Free to NJIT from EBSCO
Index to ASEE Proceedings   Coverage dates: 1996-
  Subjects: Education, Engineering Externally Funded
LISTA (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts)   Coverage dates: 1960s - Present
  Subjects: Education, General, Humanities, Social Sciences Funded by: Free from EBSCO. This database will be disabled if EBSCO changes its status.
OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson   Coverage dates: 1982 - Present
  Subjects: Art and Architecture, Business and Management, Education, Engineering, General, Humanities, Information Science and Systems, Science, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library
Professional Development Collection   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Education Funded by: NJ State Library
Readers Guide Full Text (Omnifile Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson)   Coverage dates: 1994 - Present
  Subjects: Education, General, Humanities, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library

 
Electrical and Computer Engineering       Top
ACM Digital Library   Coverage dates: 1991- Present
  Subjects: Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems Funded by: NJIT Library
Applied Science Abstracts   Coverage dates: 1983 - Present
  Subjects: Civil Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
EBL (e-Books Library)   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Computer Science, ebooks, Electrical and Computer Engineering, General, Humanities, Information Science and Systems Funded by: NJIT Library
IEE/IEEE Electronic Library   Coverage dates: 1988 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems Funded by: NJIT Library
INSPEC   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Physics Funded by: NJIT Library
Institute of Physics Electronic Journals   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Kluwer Online Journals (MERGED WITH SPRINGERLINK)   Coverage dates: 1997 - Present
  Subjects: Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics Funded by: NJIT Library
Science Direct   Coverage dates: 1995 - Present
  Subjects: Business and Management, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics, Science Funded by: NJIT Library
Scopus   Coverage dates: 1960 - Present
  Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Business and Management, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering Technology, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Science and Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical, Physics, Social Sciences Funded by: NJIT Library
SPIE Digital Library   Coverage dates: Varies
  Subjects: Electrical and Computer Engineering, Science Externally Funded
SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) Data   Coverage dates: 1975 - Present
  Subjects: Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Physics, Science Funded by: Free from American Institute of Physics