Additional Materials

Request materials not owned by NJIT library. Turn around time varies depending on type of request and availability.

NJIT librarians are available for research consultations and support.

Library Databases - A to Z
Due to licensing restrictions, remote access / off-campus access to some of the library's electronic resources is limited to current students, faculty and staff of New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Titles

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W


Science Reference Center
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJ State Library
Description:

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. 
Subjects:

Scientific and Technical Information Network
Coverage: 
1974 - Present
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET) Service helps the DOD community access pertinent scientific and technical information to meet mission needs more effectively. Public STINET gives you access to all unclassified, unlimited citations to documents added into DTIC from late December 1974 to present. 
Subjects:

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

This database is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. Special Software must be loaded to use it. There is a new version of the software which offers enhanced searching including limited cited reference searching. Scifinder Scholar 2006 was released in August 2005. Please upgrade to this new version at your earliest convenience. Older versions of Scifinder Scholar will not work after March 31, 2006. Please contact Bruce Slutsky (slutsky@adm.njit.edu) or (973) 642-4950 for further information. 
Subjects:

Scitation / SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices)
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

Scitation is the online home of more than 100 journals from AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and a host of other prestigious science and engineering societies. Some articles are available in full-text while others are only available to subscribers 
Subjects:

Scopus
Coverage: 
1960 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

Scopus covers 14,000 international journals from more than 4,000 publishers in Science, Medicine, and Technical subjects. 
Subjects:

SIAM Journals Online
Coverage: 
1997 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

Electronic access to SIAM Full-Text Articles from 1997 to the present. 
Subjects:

Social sciences Full Text (Omnifile Full Text Mega Edition - H.W. Wilson)
Coverage: 
1995 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

Social Sciences Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts 653 periodicals plus the full text of 257 periodicals in all aspects of Social Sciences. Indexing begins in 1983. Full text coverage begins in January 1995. 
Subjects:

SPIE Digital Library
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

The SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering) Digital Library includes approx. 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1998. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers published since 1995. Plans are underway to expand the Digital Library back to 1990 by the end of 2004, an archive of nearly 200,000 papers. Approximately 15,000 new papers will be added each year. 
Subjects:

Springerlink
Coverage: 
1997 - Present
Funded by: 
NJIT Library
Description:

Online access to selected Springe-Kluwer journals. 
Subjects:

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a an authoritative and comprehensive reference work devoted to philosophy that will remain useful to those in academia and the general public. 
Subjects:

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

The Statistical Abstract is the Nation’s best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the country. The Abstract has been published since 1878. As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. 
Subjects:

Structurae: The International Database and Gallery
Coverage: 
Varies
Funded by: 
Externally Funded
Description:

This searchable site is designed to "provide information on structures of interest to the civil engineer." There are over 3,000 structures including buildings, bridges, dams, towers, and domes. The database is browsable alphabetically, by structure type, function, construction method, geography, large-scale projects, persons, or firm. Information includes materials, dimensions, starting and completion dates, and some photographs. Additionally, there is a 2,500 year timeline and related resources. Available in English, French, and German. 
Subjects: